Life Happens . . . so do Reflections

I Look, I Feel, I Touch

I touch!!

Everywhere I look, I feel. I touch the essence of whom I am,
my heart and mind, in synchronistic rhythm, dance in time.
Harmonic vessels of love drifting near lullaby’s greatest dam,
flow back and forth within the tides of reason without rhyme.
My mind, seducing logic, its melody of reasoning’s sway,
effortlessly touches raw nerve endings, unbroken song.
My heart feels every syncopated beating, anchors aweigh,
out to sea in three-part harmony, look, feel, touch; I long.

My eyes see awe beyond the horizon of each seaworthy sigh
when yellows spread their golden wings to orange, then violet hues.
Majestic splendour’s soft paintbrush feathers across the twilight sky
with richness in beauty unparalleled, until night’s muse
slowly darkwashes the palette of my symbol, hope’s delight.
Pinpricks of light burst his satin curtain, its glory,
like brilliant specks of diamond crystals, lain upon a velvet height,
thus cast in dazzling, spellbinding performance, a story.

Storytellers, realms of darkness covering, weave most enticing
tales of lost and fallen heroes, reaching romantic height.
Stars dance in the dark, a musical fantasy pulls my heartstring.
Staring in utter stillness, a wondrous stupor of might
binds this solemn moment in memory’s treasure of time and space.
My dreams find rest, safe harbour nestled among the stars.
I hope, dream beyond horizons, and touch glories in my jeweled case.
The treasured gems, like specks of light, reflect my soul born afar.

Everywhere I look, I feel. I touch the very essence of whom
I see to be me, a solemn reflection of my heart
seeking to reach into divinely sanctioned realms, a fertile womb.
There, in the security and sanctity of life’s start,
my spirit soars on eagle’s wings awaiting glorious daybreak
that calls me to explore His heights from lofty mountain peaks.
Incredulous, cascading waterfalls, pounding spray in its wake
of watery whisperings dripping on my face soothes, speaks.

Everywhere I look, I feel. I placidly touch, searching my heart.
The light ahead, the shadow behind, my pathway unknown,
subtly lined by villains of deceits, waiting to tear me apart.
They lie in wait to shackle me, my soul, to scourge and own.
My ears hear the words beyond the threshold, veil to eternities,
where mountains guard the pass, inspiration’s secret language.
Quietly, softly, audible in stillness, He sends forth a breeze
in gentle whispering kisses, wisdom from heaven’s sage.

Everywhere I look, I feel. I touch the reflections of my soul.
I see beyond the tangible, hear the unspoken dream
as my heart seeks immersion in mountainous realms, making me whole,
a symphony, me, a harmonious blend of hope’s gleam.
Everywhere I look, I feel. I touch the essence of whom I am.
The mirrors to my soul and heart found in waters pure, clear,
reflecting a choice image held in His arms, me, a little lamb.
Mountains, water, heart and mind, reflections, a solemn sphere.

Everywhere I look, I feel. I touch the inside of my heart,
where beats the precious hopes, dreams, and loves I cherish.
I touch the inner softness of its delicateness hearthside
and recline near its warmth, immersed in heat divine.
I look into the glowing flames of defeat and desire.
Everywhere I look, I feel, I touch the essence of whom I am.
© Vicki Nicholls January 2021


January 22, 2020 — When I chose to label myself the Contemplative Voyager for my writings, I reflected on my purpose for beginning this personal journey in my desires for healing from loss and grief. I never thought my experiences were difficult, more so than any other person bears, but I felt an overpowering sense and urgency to share a few small chapters from my story. And so began an unexpected year of devastating depression, heartbreak, loss, and the joyous heights of enlightenment, treasured friendship, finding, and surprising realization that I write, without apologies (a little uneasy at the raw bareness), the compositions of my heart. It comes from the abyss of my being, a wonderful place of hope and love, I discovered. There is light in the darkest place. The title seemed so appropriate for several reasons, one being my love of cruising and water, another my penchant for contemplating my experiences. I have always found solace and a sacred connection to nature’s abundance, in particular, clouds, stars, water, trees, hills, and mountains. I love the rain and sun. I hear the figurative language of symbolism as waves crash against rocky shores, obstacles, or my paddleboard.

Reflections are a vital part of my life, just like the air I breathe, the people I love, and the blessings that have been poured abundantly from whatever cup I drink, bitter or sweet.

What an incredibly miraculous voyage of self-discovery, self-awareness, and introspection I see on my trail-blazing exploits and adventures! It has been a source of inspiration and amazement as I continue to express my gratitude for bounteous blessings, even in the midst of immense trials. Never imagining the road behind, and where I pause at this moment of my life, my jaw drops. Figuratively naked in front of a most unusual mirror, I see what was, is, and look intently to see beyond the visions reflecting me. Where my choices lead, my dreams, my heart, mind, strength, hope, and spirit will be. I have so much to learn and discover while living my life’s happenings, an adventure that includes water and mountains, symbolically and literally. I know my dreams well. They are indelibly ‘tattooed’ in my heart. I leave them to the ‘Keeper of the Stars’ as my guide while course corrections shine above.

With faithful encouragement, counsel, listening ears, watchful eyes, and godly kindness from a few precious gems (friendship ever true), I live with a smile dancing to the music of my heart, mind, and spirit. I only skim the surface of my blessings, for I cannot fathom why He loves me so, except that I am His daughter and hope to be called His friend. Everywhere I look, I feel, I touch . . .

=>What causes moments of reflection in your life?
=>How do your reflections enrich you and those you love?
=>What so you see in you? What is your essence?

Have a question you would like to ask me?
Message me privately or in the Comment field (Reply) below the links to all my posts.
Want to share with someone?
At the bottom of each post, you will find options to share the post.

Thank you for reading. I often reflect on impossible answers, but the ‘impossible’ possibilities are always intriguingly mesmerizing, involving personal perspectives and perceptions.

Life Happens . . . so do Reflections . . . so does the Space Between . . . so do Whispers . . . to Everyone . . . so do Feelings . . . so do Awakenings . . . so do Sounds . . . so do Beginnings . . . so does Enlightenment
. . . so do Poetic Expressions . . . so does Waiting (SM) . . . so does a Ballad of the Contemplative Voyager
. . . so does the Master’s Touch (SM) . . . so does Dispelling Emptiness in Aloneness
. . . so do Aw-ha! Moments . . . so do Rooftops (SM) . . . so do Landscapes . . . so do . . .? . . . so . . .
. . . so do Dioramas (SM) . . . so do Storms . . . so do Prayers (SM) . . . so do Skeletons
. . . so does “What lack I yet?” (SM) . . . so do Feet . . . so do Swords and Shields (SM) . . . so do Tents
. . . so do Rescues (SM) . . . so do Father/Daughter Memories . . . so does the Shepherd (SM)
. . . so do Missing Pieces . . . so do Faith and Wholeness (SM) . . . do do Waves . . . so does Gingerbread
. . . so does “What am I to do now?” . . . so do Choices



Leave a comment